Chamber music

Oxford Chamber Music Society

Sunday concerts at 3pm in the historic Holywell Music Room

Oxford Chamber Music Society

Tom Poster and the Kaleidoscope Chamber Collective

Sunday 12 May 2024 at 3pm


Grieg - Lyric pieces for solo piano (selection)

Clara Schumann - Three Romances for Violin and piano, Op. 22

Robert Schumann (arr. Kirchner) - Six Canonic Etudes for piano trio, Op. 56

Brahms - Piano Quartet No. 2 in A major, Op. 26

What better way to complete our 125th concert season than with brilliant Tom Poster and members of the Kaleidoscope Chamber Collective playing compositions by four great nineteenth-century composers, all closely linked through music and life.  After a first half of solo, duo and trio chamber music they will pay tribute to the founder members of OCMS with a performance of Brahms’ second piano quartet: the opening work in the inaugural concert of the Oxford Ladies’ Musical Society in 1898. In 1968 OLMS became OCMS, which continues to relish the creativity of its founders through outstanding performances of chamber music – of which this concert will be a scintillating example!


Tom Poster (piano), Elena Urioste (violin), Rosalind Ventris (viola), Laura van der Heijden (cello)


Photo credit: © Kaleidoscope Chamber Collective