Chamber music

Oxford Chamber Music Society

Sunday concerts at 3pm in the historic Holywell Music Room

Oxford Chamber Music Society

The Fibonacci Sequence
Sunday 16 January 2022 at 3pm


Mozart: Concerto in A K414, arr. Mozart
John McCabe: Nocturnal Piano Quintet Op 42
Dohnanyi: Piano Quintet No 1 in C

This performance has already finished. Please join the mailing list so we can let you know about new events.

‘…no praise can be too high for the Fibonacci Sequence’s polished and dashingly committed performances…’ [Gramophone]. Mozart produced the chamber version of his piano concerto to please home performers and Dohnanyi’s lyrical early piano quintet was much admired by Brahms. John McCabe’s 1966 Nocturnal is a quintet in miniature by a much respected musician. 

The Fibonacci Sequence has long been admired as one of this country’s most distinguished chamber ensembles. They take their name from the great mediaeval mathematician Fibonacci, after whom is named a series of numbers which is held by many to determine the most harmonious proportions in art and music.

The Fibonacci Sequence: Robert Salter, Jonathan Stone – violins, Yuko Inoue – viola, Benjamin Hughes – cello, Kathron Sturrock – piano